Home » B4Peace » November Blog4Peace — Love Thy Self

November Blog4Peace — Love Thy Self

A date thingy? Ah! Calendar

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

66942sc58px75a0

This might be the toughest Peace Challenge for many of you, but I want to take us out of our comfort zones for true peace. This month, I want you to open your arms to your enemies. Think of a person, a place, a nation, a culture, a religion, a gender, or an ideology that you view as a enemy. – Kozo.

A tough task indeed from banner.

Let’s first take a look at what defines the word enemy:

1. One who feels hatred toward, intends injury to, or opposes the interests of another; a foe.
2.
a. A hostile power or force, such as a nation.
b. A member or unit of such a force.
3. A group of foes or hostile forces.
4. Something destructive or injurious in its effects: Of, relating to, or being a hostile power or force.

Quotations

“Pay attention to your enemies, for they are the first to discover your mistakes” [Antisthenes]
“You can discover what your enemy fears most by observing the means he uses to frighten you” [Eric Hoffer The Passionate State of Mind]
“A man cannot be too careful in the choice of his enemies” [Oscar Wilde Lady Windermere’s Fan]
“A very great man once said you should love your enemies, and that’s not a bad piece of advice. We can love them, but, by God, that doesn’t mean we’re not going to fight them” [Norman Schwarzkopf]
“The enemy retreats, we pursue” [Mao Zedong slogan for his troops]
“If we could read the secret history of our enemies, we should find in each man’s life sorrow and suffering enough to disarm all hostility” [Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Driftwood]
“We have met the enemy and he is us” [Walt Kelly Pogo]
“Yet is every man his own greatest enemy, and as it were his own executioner” [Thomas Browne Religio Medici]

I could go to a dark place in my life where I have perpetrated all the actions of point one above on myself. But I won’t, as I’d rather keep the topic of this months challenge light. So let me think what can I write about? I know, I have a hatred of coffee, only because I’ve tried it and know I hate it. I also have a hatred of dolls and spiders, but only because I have an unnatural fear of them. However, I do have a strong hatred of war and everything it represents, but I suspect many of us have that feeling.
As to hatred toward another person, well, there have been times in my life I’ve disliked a few people, who hasn’t. But can I truly say I hated them?

I’d rather believe in the words of Walt Kelly and Thomas Browne, for I believe we are our own greatest enemy.

On many occasions I’ve criticised myself, hated myself, loathed myself for the way that I am or the things that I’ve done without even knowing why. It is far easier to hate ourselves than to hate someone else, don’t you think. Why, because we know ourselves. All the misguided beliefs that make us, us. Hate that we’re too short or too tall. Hate that we’re not perfect. Hate that we ate the cream cake when we thought we shouldn’t have. Hate that we will never measure up to those around us. I could go on, but the list is endless because we will always find something to hate about ourselves. Truth is, we are our own greatest enemy?

So how do we defeat this inner enemy?

As for me, in between the peace negotiations and white-flag waving, the battle still persists. The only difference from when the war began back in my youth, the skirmishes are less frequent now. Maybe age has something to with it, or maybe I’m finally growing tired of constantly beating myself up over the smallest of things that shouldn’t matter.

So what if I’m only 5ft 2ins and sagging in places I never thought I would.
So what if my 50th birthday will soon be upon me.
So what if I can’t bake a cake without it sinking in the middle.

I’m not perfect. I’m getting older. And I’m never going to be a master baker.

Get over it‘ is what I tell myself. Well, perhaps it’s about time I did.

If, by chance, you’ve succeeded in signing your inner, peace treaty, I’d really love to hear about it. Maybe I’ll find a few pointers in how to get my opposing sides together and at last, agree to some form of peace. Who knows, I could get lucky.

Let’s finish this months challenge with a meaningful quote:

“Normally we divide the external world into that which we consider to be good or valuable, bad or worthless, or neither. Most of the time these discriminations are incorrect or have little meaning. For example, our habitual way of categorizing people as friends, enemies, and strangers depending on how they make us feel is both incorrect and a great obstacle to developing impartial love for all living beings. Rather than holding so tightly to our discriminations of the external world, it would be much more beneficial if we learned to discriminate between valuable and worthless states of mind.” – Geshe Kelsang Gyatso, Transform Your Life: A Blissful Journey.

Peace out until next month people.

8 Comments

  1. well done ! I could only do it about myself as well but must admit, when I read Kozo’s prompt I ran and hid..

  2. Kozo Hattori says:

    Love all the quotations, Sarah. I also love your self-compassion. I agree that the biggest enemy is ourselves which is why I aimed this challenge at myself. Thank you for your honest and courageous post for peace. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

You can leave a comment if you like. I don't mind.

AS IF YOU WANT TO KNOW!

sarahneeve

View Full Profile →

The Nice Things People Do

Thank you to Terry1954 for the nomination. And jrosenberry1 for the second award.

Thank you to Apprentice, never Master for the nomination.

Thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

And again, thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

Thank you to soiwentundercover for the nomination

A Great Saturday Meme challenge!

The Shoved Away Bits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 247 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing & self publishing

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

freaky folk tales

A haunting we will go...

bookendings

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

If there is any magic in this world...

The world can be amazing when you are slightly … strange!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

a north east ohio garden

an ongoing experiment in the dirt, 35 plus years

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Hollis Plample

draws comics

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Blue 88

Luke Cameron Manion

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Worldy ways.

The imagination of a West Yorkshire girl on travel, art, poetry and life.

Wester Avenue in rural northern Wisconsin

living in the country; more plants and critters and less people

ASMSG AUTHORS’ BOOKS

A GREAT SELECTION OF BOOKS BY THE TALENTED AUTHORS OF ASMSG

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

traveleum

#travel #photo #blog

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Bloggers For Peace

People Engaged Aligned Committed Evolving

ruleofstupid

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

Ellyn Baker-Discovering Both Sides of the Story

"Writing to me is simply thinking through my fingers " ~Isaac Asimov~

Just me

My thoughts as I continue to battle depression

SnappyJaye

A Photo Journey

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Dream Huntress

... catching them and bringing them to life once more

Paper Engines

Cultural Critique, Art and The Musings of a Moral Mad Scientist

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

