Home » B4Peace » July’s B4Peace — Peace Begins with a Letter

July’s B4Peace — Peace Begins with a Letter

A date thingy? Ah! Calendar

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
image courtesy of: www.impowerable.com

image courtesy of: http://www.impowerable.com

Okay. So this month’s challenge made me cringe inwardly. Not at the context of this months challenge I must add, but in the sense that I find this the hardest one so far. Even so, there are some inspiring posts out there on this month’s subject that have done the challenge proud. I suggest you take a look at the links at the end of this post and see.

As for my own, well, I’m a stickler for ‘freedom of voice’, so I might suggest if you are a strong, believer in religion, don’t read it, my harshness this month may be too much for you. But, I’ll leave it up to you to decide. First though, let me say a big thank you to Kozo, the Chief Inspirator (don’t care if it’s not a word. I like it!), for creating the banner movement. I’m honoured to play a small part once a month in helping to get the word out there (hope though I haven’t shot myself in the foot with this one!).

And what is this month’s challenge you ask? Well, here are the points:

  • Write a letter to a person in power, past or present. Let them know what you feel about the state of the world under their control. Here is a great example from a teenage girl in PakistanPeople Aren’t Made For Slaughter. Cattle Are..
  • Write a letter to God, the Universe, Jesus, Buddha, Allah, or any other spiritual leader. One of my favorite books is Conversations with Godwhich consists of a series of letters to and from God. Feel free to have your spiritual leader answer your letter.
  • Write an epistolary story that explores peace.
  • Write a letter you would like to receive from peace.
  • Post a photo, video, story, or piece of art that explores the intersection of writing and peace.
  • Do a stream of conscious letter to anyone. Rant, scream, cry, and/or swear for peace. This might be best done with a pen and transcribed or scanned into your post.
  • Since this challenge is about letters and peace, anything you do will meet the challenge.

To whom it may concern.

I thought long and hard before starting this letter. I wondered, should I address it to the leaders of the world? No, because I don’t think they’d read it anyway. Then I thought, should I address it to God, Allah, Buddha etc? No, because I’m a non-believer (sorry if that offends you, I am who I am). So, I thought, I’ll just address it to ‘whom it may concern.’ If you fall within that bracket, hi, I’m addressing you.

Let’s get this straight first, it’s not a sermon, we’ve had too much of that in the past. I can’t tell you what to do or how to feel about things, that’s not my job. I can only voice my opinion (for what it’s worth).

Peace, has been the subject of many a debate, rally, sit-down, you get the point. But what has it achieved? Not a great deal. Why? Actions of peace fall on deaf ears. The world isn’t interested. Well, the corporate world isn’t. How can a feeling such as peace create money and power, it can’t. Hence their disinterest, if it doesn’t bring anything of value to the table, throw it away. World leaders, they don’t care. If they did, I’d suspect we’ve had seen something by now. Oh, they’re quite happy to spout the word when it suits them, when they need the vote. Then, it all fizzles away, lost in time until the next election. As to the Gods on high, don’t get me started. You claim peace as your own, then why allow so much pain and suffering to exist in this world? And please, don’t tell me it’s because of our sins, I don’t buy it. If you can look down on us while children go hungry, while countries are ravaged with war, while animals are being slaughtered and do nothing, then, you are not deserving in my eyes.

Then why did I write this letter? What is its purpose?

Dear reader, if you are still with me and I haven’t offended you (which was never my intention), this is why.

Peace will only reign true in this world if we believe its existence. I for one, do. I could just say, let’s join the world together, place ships bow to stern across our oceans so that we can criss-cross this planet in a blanket of joined hands and give it a massive hug. Could work. It would be worthy of the press coverage. No. I’m simply asking you to stop and think. When was the last time you showed an act of kindness, a small gesture to a fellow human or animal? Yes, we are all important. If you’re struggling for the answer, then it’s been a long time. Each of us are guilty in forgetting, in losing ourselves in our daily life, our own problems. Don’t beat yourself up, you’re just one in a list of millions.

How do I find peace? In the simplest things. A ‘hi’ to the stranger on the street. Listening to a piece of music, reading a book or poem. Sharing my cats food with the skinny cat that roams our neighbourhood and giving it a deserved stroke. Or donating a sum of money you can afford to a worthwhile charity (every little helps). But that’s me. Everything starts small, like ‘Bloggers for Peace’ did, but it’s multiplying. We all know what grew from the tiniest acorn, don’t we. So plant your acorns, people. Start small, do anything you feel embodies peace and you’re doing your part in making this world a better place.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. And hey! You’ve already shown an interest, so hi-five yourself!

Yours sincerely.

A person with a voice.

Fellow Bloggers for Peace:

Monthly Peace Challenge – Peace Begins with a Letter – (everydaygurus.com)

Atheist Monument – (appletonavenue.wordpress.com)

Dear Dianna – (yaussiechick.wordpress.com)

B4Peace – Monthly Peace Challenge – A Letter – (lauriesnotes.wordpress.com)

July Post For Peace – (grandmalin.wordpress.com)

Peace With Silence – (kellykuhn.com)

Well that’s it for this month, peace out people.

14 Comments

  1. lauriesnotes says:

    Thanks for being a strong voice for peace. I think we will eventually get that it doesn’t matter if we all agree about everything or are on the same path – when enough of us desire peace, that will be good. You are right that many don’t want it today I think. I say keep inspiring those of us that do- those that are beginning to – and it will keep growing. Great letter.
    Much peace –
    Laurie

  2. twindaddy says:

    Well said, Sarah.

  3. […] July’s B4Peace – Peace Begins with a Letter (sarahneeve.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] July’s B4Peace – Peace Begins with a Letter (sarahneeve.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Many Little Drops says:

    A new Peace Letter http://wp.me/p1zocx-3zu
    This was a fun Peace Challenge:)

You can leave a comment if you like. I don't mind.

AS IF YOU WANT TO KNOW!

sarahneeve

View Full Profile →

The Nice Things People Do

Thank you to Terry1954 for the nomination. And jrosenberry1 for the second award.

Thank you to Apprentice, never Master for the nomination.

Thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

And again, thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

Thank you to soiwentundercover for the nomination

A Great Saturday Meme challenge!

The Shoved Away Bits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 247 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing & self publishing

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

freaky folk tales

A haunting we will go...

bookendings

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

If there is any magic in this world...

The world can be amazing when you are slightly … strange!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

a north east ohio garden

an ongoing experiment in the dirt, 35 plus years

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Hollis Plample

draws comics

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Blue 88

Luke Cameron Manion

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Worldy ways.

The imagination of a West Yorkshire girl on travel, art, poetry and life.

Wester Avenue in rural northern Wisconsin

living in the country; more plants and critters and less people

ASMSG AUTHORS’ BOOKS

A GREAT SELECTION OF BOOKS BY THE TALENTED AUTHORS OF ASMSG

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

traveleum

#travel #photo #blog

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Bloggers For Peace

People Engaged Aligned Committed Evolving

ruleofstupid

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

Ellyn Baker-Discovering Both Sides of the Story

"Writing to me is simply thinking through my fingers " ~Isaac Asimov~

Just me

My thoughts as I continue to battle depression

SnappyJaye

A Photo Journey

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Dream Huntress

... catching them and bringing them to life once more

Paper Engines

Cultural Critique, Art and The Musings of a Moral Mad Scientist

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

