Home » Daily Posts » Award Ketchup

Award Ketchup

A date thingy? Ah! Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Okay, so ketchup sounds like catch-up, and I couldn’t resist.

So, I have a couple of awards I’ve got to sort out. Let alone the one kindly given to me by djmatticus, which I haven’t completed yet (bad toad, bad toad!). Well it’s about time I pulled up my drawers and got on with the tasks in hand.

I’ll warn you now, this post is going to make it into the annals of posts exceeding the required amount of words that deign it readable. What I mean is, it’s going to be bloody long. I won’t blame you if you fail to make it to the end.

Without further ado:

The versatile blogger: part 2

versatileblogger111

soiwentundercover – this girl is multi talented, how else can you describe versatile. Go on, tell me! Plus, she’s always wanted a versatile blogger award and it would be wrong of me not to grant her wish.

littlewonder2 – is an amazing writer, I love the diversity of the posts. Give them a look.

thejournalfiles – another writer who has a knack for turning a good story into something great. Well I think so anyway.

sixpuns – okay, so they’ve already got this award, but I’m still going to nominate them because I love the blog and it’s gobsmackingly brilliant how they come up with their posts. This is one blog I suggest to take a look at.

blogitorloseit – now, what can I say that does this woman justice. It’s probably better if you go take a look at her blog and decide for yourselves. She is a master of the Haiku.

Right, I’ve come to the decision that 10 blogs is enough for this award. Of course all the ones I follow I’d class as versatile, but I need to keep this as short as I can.
Now for the boring bit: post 7 interesting things about yourself.

  1. When I was a crawling baby, I fell forward onto a knitting needle that I’d apparently shoved in my mouth and it pierced my throat. I was told it involved a lot of blood.
  2. I have a weak nose having broken it 3 times. Once when I tripped on the bed cover, once when my hubbie head-butted me (not on purpose, it was my fault for being nosey), and once when an outside sign at work swung back and smacked me in the face.
  3. I’m left-handed, so that means I use the creative side of my brain. Whoever came up with that notion!
  4. My birth was predicted by a gypsy (much to my mum’s horror when she gave birth to me at the age of 39).
  5. I’m the youngest of eight children (okay not interesting, but I’m finding this difficult!).
  6. I went to watch Norwich City’s pre-season games in Malaysia back in 2004 (Norwich City are a football team).
  7. I’ve visited Florida 3 times and Cuba 3 times.

A belated call-out to djmatticus over at thematticuskingdom. This young man is a very talented person, and yes I can call him a young man because I’m old enough to be his mother! I love his stories, his Daily Prompt posts but most of all I love, love, love his Q & A Parody Madness, you have to check it out, he’s really quite brilliant. Thank you kind sir for bestowing upon me this award. I will treasure it and clean it daily.

Next:

very inspiring blogger award

I was also awarded the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger Award’ by jrosenberry1. I thanked her kindly, but as I already have the award I asked her to forward it on to someone else. But thanks so very much for thinking of me.

Next:

liebster_share1

soiwentundercover nominated me for this award back in January. Yes I know, but I’ve had issues okay. I’m doing it now, aren’t I!

So, where was I, ah yes, soiwentundercover is a stay-at-home-mom (or mum, as we say over here). She writes really good stories, has an occasional rant, like we all do, but she says the nicest things in her comments, so no wonder she received the award in the first place. Please give her a look and say something nice, she really deserves it. Thanks a heapload for nominating me, I’ll take care of the award as though it was my child (now where did I put the damn thing?).

Down to business:

  •     Nominate 15 fellow bloggers – really! Well bugger that, I’m only doing… whatever I believe to be the correct number.
  •     Place the award on the post – done.
  •     Mention the nominator and leave a link – double done.
  •     Answer 11 questions about yourself – not sure if I’m supposed to answer the same ones, so I’ll just do that anyway.

The dreaded questions:

1. What is your favorite song?

Don’t really have a favourite, but if I’m supposed to play along, I’ll say… White Wedding by Billy Idol.

2. What was the last thing you ate?

Two digestive biscuits at 5:00a.m this morning (so, I like biscuits).

3. Do you prefer to read from an eReader or a paper copy?

I don’t own an e-reader, so it’s paper all the way for me (but if anyone’s offering…).

4. List your five favorite movies?

Now this is one question I can’t answer, I like too many to pick just five. Okay, I’ll give you one Lord of The Rings, all three of them.

5. What writing project are you working on now?

I’m working on three, you can find them on my blog if you’re interested.

6. Are you allergic to anything?

Aspirin and Anti-inflammatories. Oh, and I thought I was allergic to shellfish for years, until I risked a bite of one and realised I must have just had a dicey prawn when I was younger.

7. Do you have any real life stories that start with, “This one time at camp…”

Nope. We didn’t have camp over here in England, although I believe the concept has taken hold in some areas now.

8. How do you handle telemarketers?

I don’t, because our house phone is never switched on.

9. When was the last time you wrote someone a letter by hand and mailed it?

The last time a wrote a letter was two years ago, it never got posted because I placed it in the coffin with my mum.

10. Besides writing, do you have any other artsy talents?

I have an O’Level in Art, and I have a love of drawing. That’s it.

11. What is your favorite joke?

Can’t answer this one because I’m lousy at remembering jokes. Sorry.

The Nominations are:

elleturner4 – how could I not share this award with one of my very first followers. She an amazing woman, with a brilliant eye for photography and witty anecdotes. She’s also a songwriter, but I have yet to find out any details, but then I also respect her privacy.

lingeringvisions – another one of my early followers and another brilliant photographer and writer.

everydaygurus – kozo, I’m sharing the love. B4Peace deserves every award it can get. **Hugs**

thematticuskingdom – just accept the award for the reason it is intended, and that’s because I value your time and energy in responding to my posts. And how’s the outfit coming along, it’s getting a little nippy without any clothes. 😉

justme – because you deserve as much love as I can offer. Keep your chin up. 🙂

Stuphblog (twindaddy) – yes, I’m giving you another award. Share the love you white-suited, quick-witted storm trooper. 😉 Oh, and a masterful writer as well.

That’s it for that award. You never know, I may comply with the rules one day and sneak up on you with a nomination.

And Lastly (I think?):

proper one-lovely-blog-award

http://thematticuskingdom.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/lovely-and-inspiring/ Sir djmatticus took upon himself to nominate me for this award. I can’t say my blog looks lovely, as I have a tendency to keep changing the damn thing. Perhaps he meant my actual posts? Again, not lovely, but I’ll accept his decision because he is a fellow Superhero and my (self-appointed) sidekick. What can I say but thank you, I honestly can’t believe you have awarded me two of these awards! High praise indeed. As before, I will accept it in a honourly fashion, on bended knee. Now everyone, go take a look at this http://thematticuskingdom.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/rising-from-the-ashes/ and let him know how awesome he is.

Another 7 things you’re dying to know:

  1. I have a tattoo on my left leg.
  2. I love to eat peanut puffs (I’m using them to get over my addiction to Peanut Butter).
  3. Cake is my most favourite food group.
  4. I have a fascination for old plates and dishes (collecting them, I mean).
  5. I could use the letters SQP after my name. I’ll leave it up to you to work that one out.
  6. You’ll find candles everywhere in my house.
  7. Multi-tasking is a swear word in the Neeve household. Sorry ladies, but I’m woman enough to own up to the fact.

And the last nominations are:

rarasaur – who truly has a lovely blog (you have to love that dinosaur), plus I don’t think she has this one yet.

ExperimentalFiction – okay, so I’m not even sure if Simon accepts awards because I can’t find any on his blog. But what the hell, I love his writing and poetry and in my eyes, that is a deserving trait for this award.

hastywords – again, I’m not sure if this wonderful woman accepts awards, but if you’ve had the pleasure of reading her magnificent poetry, then you’d understand why. If you haven’t, then I suggest you do.

Well, I’m done now. You can accept these awards in the manner of which I’ve awarded them, or you can completely chose to ignore them. That dear nominees, is your rightful decision. But please know I didn’t just pick your names out of a hat, a lot of thinking went in to this process. Thought you should know that.

Oh, and there’s probably loads of missing words, spelling mistakes and punctuation issues, but give me a break, this hasn’t been easy. As to the formatting, well, it refused to play nicely.

19 Comments

  1. djmatticus says:

    Yes, but… what is the tattoo of? That’s the important/interesting part. Is it a multi-colored tiger?

    Thank you for all of the kind words and the nomination. An “acceptance” post will be coming shortly. Well, somewhat soonish. Hmm, at some point in the near or distant future. There will be one though. I’m pretty sure.

    Congratulations on all of your awards! May you display them proudly as they are well deserved. Hmm, do you have more awards now than Norwich? Hmm, is that hitting below the (football) belt?

    (Sorry, just a bit jittery today in anticipation of The Game… And I won’t get to watch it live as I’ll be at work, so I’m recording it, but my TV has been on the fritz, so it may decide it doesn’t want to record it so I could look forward to watching it all day long just to get home and be left with nothing. :-/ It wouldn’t be the first time.)

    • sarahneeve says:

      All I can say is, I was at Wembley when we won the Milk Cup. 😉 As to the tattoo, it’s a Yin-Yan symbol with blue and pink lotus flowers and roughly 5×3 inches in size. I designed it myself. 🙂
      As to the game, I hope you get to watch it, if not I can always tell you the score.
      As to other, you’re more than welcome. 😉

      • djmatticus says:

        don’t tell me the score!!!!! that would be a disaster. 😛 No, if I can’t watch the recorded version for some reason, I can always catch a replay at midnight or tomorrow…

        the tattoo sounds pretty awesome. I considered getting a turntable at one point – referencing both my love for music and my years spent dj’ing… but, always talked myself out of it

      • sarahneeve says:

        Don’t worry, I won’t spoil your fun. 😉
        It took me ages to pluck up the courage, and I won’t lie and said it didn’t hurt, because it did. But I got it after my therapy ended, a badge to remind me that I am a surviver, and I will continue to battle my demons. 🙂

  2. UndercoverL says:

    You’ve made my award dreams come true! I will get right on this one! XOXO

  3. elleturner4 says:

    Goodness! You have been busy…what a lot of acceptances! Youngest of 8…now I really do think that’s interesting…wow! Thank you for the nomination…I will set to work shortly!
    🙂

    • sarahneeve says:

      I hated being the youngest, especially when you have a sister who thought she should’ve been. Lets just say we’ve never got on together.
      As to the award, you are truly welcome. 🙂

  4. terry1954 says:

    congratulations!!!!

  5. […] I was ducking that award, a crazy psychedelic tiger wrestled me to the ground and forced a Liebster Award upon me.  This one, to be […]

  6. […] other thing I found out when checking my stats is that my friend Sarah Neeve, at Inspire the Idea, nominated me for an award I have been secretly unabashedly coveting since the beginning of time […]

You can leave a comment if you like. I don't mind.

AS IF YOU WANT TO KNOW!

sarahneeve

View Full Profile →

The Nice Things People Do

Thank you to Terry1954 for the nomination. And jrosenberry1 for the second award.

Thank you to Apprentice, never Master for the nomination.

Thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

And again, thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

Thank you to soiwentundercover for the nomination

A Great Saturday Meme challenge!

The Shoved Away Bits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 247 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing & self publishing

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

freaky folk tales

A haunting we will go...

bookendings

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

If there is any magic in this world...

The world can be amazing when you are slightly … strange!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

a north east ohio garden

an ongoing experiment in the dirt, 35 plus years

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Hollis Plample

draws comics

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Blue 88

Luke Cameron Manion

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Worldy ways.

The imagination of a West Yorkshire girl on travel, art, poetry and life.

Wester Avenue in rural northern Wisconsin

living in the country; more plants and critters and less people

ASMSG AUTHORS’ BOOKS

A GREAT SELECTION OF BOOKS BY THE TALENTED AUTHORS OF ASMSG

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

traveleum

#travel #photo #blog

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Bloggers For Peace

People Engaged Aligned Committed Evolving

ruleofstupid

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

Ellyn Baker-Discovering Both Sides of the Story

"Writing to me is simply thinking through my fingers " ~Isaac Asimov~

Just me

My thoughts as I continue to battle depression

SnappyJaye

A Photo Journey

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Dream Huntress

... catching them and bringing them to life once more

Paper Engines

Cultural Critique, Art and The Musings of a Moral Mad Scientist

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

