Home » Daily Posts » In a Crisis

In a Crisis

A date thingy? Ah! Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Sorry for the late post, quite apt due to the problems I’m having with my laptop at the moment. One crisis I’m pulling my hair out over! So, I do hope (laptop permitting) I get to finish this post and take time to read a few posts, too. I haven’t sold out, just tenderly picking my way through, pleading that the laptop genie will grant me my wish today. Let there be power!

Okay, now that’s done, I’ll get back to the writing challenge.

Day 39. Honestly evaluate the way you respond to crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?

During my career days, I would say I handled a crisis quite effectively. I never became flustered. I never ran around like a headless chicken. And I always felt in control.

However, personal crisis is a different matter altogether. I’m going to tell you a story, a true story, something I don’t share very easily. You know from a previous post that I lost my dad when I was young. Well here’s what happened.

I awoke to loud screams. The bedroom was dark. I was sixteen. It took me a second to realise the sound was coming from my parents bedroom. As another guttural cry broke the darkness, I ran from my room to my parents.

The sight that greeted me was both terrifying and surreal. Lying on the floor beside the bed, was my dad. My mum hovered on the bed on her knees, a tiny tablet held between her fingertips. She screamed at me to help.

I dropped to the floor beside him. Think, I told myself. My mum’s cries of ‘he wouldn’t take the tablet’ echoing in my ears. Okay, I know how to do the kiss of life and chest compressions, I thought, urging myself closer. As I leaned over and tilted his warm head, blood trickled from his lips. I reacted, drawing my hands to my chest, horrified. Where my mum had tried to force the tablet in his mouth, she’d made his gums bleed. ‘I can’t do this,’ I said, staring at my dads lifeless face, his empty eyes staring at the ceiling.

A low rumble escaped his mouth, and for the first time I screamed. I found out later my dad was already dead by then, and the sound was the air leaving his body. A death cry, I called it.

My dad died 17th December 1981. My world ended that day.

It didn’t matter that they told me I couldn’t have done anything. I had failed myself and him. I froze in a crisis.

Three days later, I withdrew from six-form, cancelling my dream of becoming a graphic designer. My guiding force was no longer there, giving me hope and words of wisdom.

For years I withdrew from situations of crisis, which involved a family member. Up until the day they admitted my mum to hospital. I spent the night before her death with two of my brothers, sitting beside her, holding her hand, brushing her hair. Where we took the decision to withdraw medication so she could die peacefully. I wasn’t there when she actually died. But at least I had a chance to say my goodbye before she departed this world.

I felt a sense of redemption with the way I handled the crisis with my mum. Maybe, because I was older, had a mature head to think clearer, who knows. Only time will tell.

 

 

7 Comments

  1. elleturner4 says:

    I’ve found it very hard to know what to say to this post only that I understand the loss and I understand the feeling ‘horrified’ that you mention. 🙂

  2. Dave says:

    I have read, and re-reading John Bader’s book, The Responsive Universe http://responsiveuniverse.wordpress.com/ which has been a help to me in understanding my reactions to panic situations. I am learning to control my negative responses.

    A negative response gives energy back to negative, and can escalate a negative situation.

    The negative response is the ego responding, and only feeds the fire. I am training myself to take my responses, elsewhere with the premise, what do I do to make this situation good? Try to lower my voice, and sound pleasant.

    This is not an easy lesson to learn but, I am working on it.

  3. twindaddy says:

    What a harrowing story. I can’t imagine what dealing with must have been like. Especially at 16 years old. Hopefully you now have accepted that there’s nothing you could have done and that your reaction in no way affected the outcome. Stay strong, Sarah.

  4. Yes, because you were older. And being older now you probably realize your reaction was that of a young girl.
    If you had it all to do over…but aahh well If If’s and Buts were candy and nuts we’d ALL have a good Christmas.

You can leave a comment if you like. I don't mind.

AS IF YOU WANT TO KNOW!

sarahneeve

View Full Profile →

The Nice Things People Do

Thank you to Terry1954 for the nomination. And jrosenberry1 for the second award.

Thank you to Apprentice, never Master for the nomination.

Thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

And again, thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

Thank you to soiwentundercover for the nomination

A Great Saturday Meme challenge!

The Shoved Away Bits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 247 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing & self publishing

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

freaky folk tales

A haunting we will go...

bookendings

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

If there is any magic in this world...

The world can be amazing when you are slightly … strange!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

a north east ohio garden

an ongoing experiment in the dirt, 35 plus years

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Hollis Plample

draws comics

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Blue 88

Luke Cameron Manion

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Worldy ways.

The imagination of a West Yorkshire girl on travel, art, poetry and life.

Wester Avenue in rural northern Wisconsin

living in the country; more plants and critters and less people

ASMSG AUTHORS’ BOOKS

A GREAT SELECTION OF BOOKS BY THE TALENTED AUTHORS OF ASMSG

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

traveleum

#travel #photo #blog

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Bloggers For Peace

People Engaged Aligned Committed Evolving

ruleofstupid

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

Ellyn Baker-Discovering Both Sides of the Story

"Writing to me is simply thinking through my fingers " ~Isaac Asimov~

Just me

My thoughts as I continue to battle depression

SnappyJaye

A Photo Journey

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Enchanted Seashells by Princess Rosebud

Beguiling pearls of wit, wisdom, and whimsy-with attitude

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Dream Huntress

... catching them and bringing them to life once more

Paper Engines

Cultural Critique, Art and The Musings of a Moral Mad Scientist

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

