Home » Daily Posts » Daily Prompt: Helpless

Daily Prompt: Helpless

A date thingy? Ah! Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Day 29. Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

My life is a constant battle of never being in control of the reins. Depression is a debilitating illness, and yes, it is an illness. I wrote this poem many years ago now. I’m still fighting in the hope that one day I will be free of the demons that torment my life.

Despair.

I feel you growing inside me,
trying hard to conquer my waking soul.
In a moment of relapse, you escape
and slowly manipulate your way
into my tired head.
In an instant you are there,
searching and gouging my weakened body,
overtaking the simplest thoughts.
You gnarl my stomach, you weighten my limbs
until I am no longer me.
You scream out ‘VICTORY’
as I answer to your every need,
driving me ever deeper
into a world of utter loneliness.
You twist my words
until I no longer speak with my own tongue.
You deny me food,
sickening every morsel
that dares to touch my lips,
you, of course, feed on something greater.
Only until your rotten hunger is satisfied,
when every good thing I ever possessed has gone,
only then, do you leave me.
I feel cold,
void of any emotions, just an empty shell.
I search frantically within myself
for that smallest glimmer of life.
Screaming inwardly, searching everywhere,
but the flame is too small
my emptiness too great.
I am alone now,
but perhaps one day the fire will return,
releasing my trapped and tormented soul
so that I can cry out
‘I HAVE WON THIS BATTLE’
and, I now again belong to me.

21 Comments

  1. dmgartphoto says:

    Good poem and I do hope that you overcome your demons.

    • sarahneeve says:

      Thanks for taking the time to like and comment.
      One day I hope to, been suffering for more than 30 years now, but hey, I smile when the good days come around. 🙂

  2. twindaddy says:

    Great poem! That applies to me, too. I’ve felt that way many a time and I’m fighting like hell to keep it from happening again.

  3. elleturner4 says:

    One of the first things I noticed in about your writing (in Blogfestivus actually) was how your words paint pictures in my head. They are so descriptive and graphic. I think you are very brave (and as a songwriter I know how hard it can be to put your innermost feelings ‘out there’) and your words carry great depth. Let’s see more of your poetry I say. 🙂

    • sarahneeve says:

      Oh, I haven’t shared them with anyone in ages. But thanks for the kind words, it’s one of the biggest compliments to have when someone says your words paint pictures. So thanks, you’ve made my day. 🙂

  4. seeker says:

    Let your suffering go to waste and I can see that you are utilizing it by writing a poem, by blogging and among other things that still yet to discover. You, HappyHugger , Me (seeker) have something in common. I have come to accept it and now at peace with it. Medication helps. Last year, I told *hugs* CBT opened a wide door for me. I learned to use the song of Lady GaGA “I was born this way” when people ask me about mental issue. Not mine, theirs. Then I started doing the GaGa thing and they shut up. Life is grand. 😀

    • sarahneeve says:

      I assume CBT is Cognitive Behavioural Therapy? If it is, I went through a year of CAT, Cognitive Analytic Therapy. It did help me to learn how to react in the correct manner, and that self-harming didn’t solve my issues, but as to the depression, it will always be a battle.

      • seeker says:

        correction: DO NOT Let your suffering go to waste, I made an omission. Yes, you have the right assumption. I agree with you that depression will stay, no cure. Even ECT did not help. However, there’s plenty of help out there. Take care.

  5. […] Daily Prompt: Helpless (sarahneeve.wordpress.com) […]

  6. Joe Owens says:

    I hope you are finding other ways to deal with the feelings that trouble you. Depression and despair can weigh heavily. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  7. SnappyJaye says:

    I just think you beautifully captured the simultaneous weight and emptiness that is depression. So honest and pure!

  8. Beautiful deep raw writing. The best! Sending you a big cyber hug. Paulette

You can leave a comment if you like. I don't mind.

AS IF YOU WANT TO KNOW!

sarahneeve

View Full Profile →

The Nice Things People Do

Thank you to Terry1954 for the nomination. And jrosenberry1 for the second award.

Thank you to Apprentice, never Master for the nomination.

Thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

And again, thank you to djmatticus for the nomination

Thank you to soiwentundercover for the nomination

A Great Saturday Meme challenge!

The Shoved Away Bits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 247 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing & self publishing

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

Without wax /

Andy Ritchie blog

freaky folk tales

A haunting we will go...

bookendings

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

If there is any magic in this world...

The world can be amazing when you are slightly … strange!

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

a north east ohio garden

an ongoing experiment in the dirt, 35 plus years

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Hollis Plample

draws comics

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Blue 88

Luke Cameron Manion

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Worldy ways.

The imagination of a West Yorkshire girl on travel, art, poetry and life.

Wester Avenue in rural northern Wisconsin

living in the country; more plants and critters and less people

ASMSG AUTHORS’ BOOKS

A GREAT SELECTION OF BOOKS BY THE TALENTED AUTHORS OF ASMSG

Carly Watters, Literary Agent Blog

On publishing, clients, writing, and queries

traveleum

#travel #photo #blog

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Bloggers For Peace

People Engaged Aligned Committed Evolving

ruleofstupid

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

Ellyn Baker-Discovering Both Sides of the Story

"Writing to me is simply thinking through my fingers " ~Isaac Asimov~

Just me

My thoughts as I continue to battle depression

SnappyJaye

A Photo Journey

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Dream Huntress

... catching them and bringing them to life once more

Paper Engines

Cultural Critique, Art and The Musings of a Moral Mad Scientist

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

